India defeats West Indies in 3rd T20, stays alive in the series

Suryakumar Yadav smacked 83 in 44 balls while Tilak Varma remained unbeaten on 49 off 37.

Bhavana P

Suryakumar Yadav was back to his aggressive best as he scored a whirlwind 83 to enable India to defeat the West Indies by seven wickets in the third T20I in Providence Stadium in Georgetown, on Tuesday, in the five-match series.

After Kuldeep Yadav (3/28) stemmed the flow of runs in the middle overs, West Indies skipper Rovman Powell's stunning 40 not out off 19 balls enabled the hosts to score a respectable 159 for five. In the run chase, debutant Yashavi Jaiswal (1) and Shubman Gill (6) got out cheaply before Suryakumar came up with a remarkable 83 off 44 balls to help India reach the target in 17.5 overs.

Tilak Varma (49 not out off 37 balls) was content in playing second fiddle to his senior Mumbai Indians teammate in their 87-run stand. Earlier, Rovman Powell won the toss and chose to bat first. The hosts made one change, with Roston Chase replacing Jason Holder. India brought in Kuldeep Yadav in place of Ravi Bishnoi, while Yashasvi Jaiswal made his debut in place of Ishan Kishan.

Brandon King (42) and Rovman Powell (42) shone brightly as the West Indies batted first and scored 159/5. Kuldeep Yadav was the pick of the Indian bowlers, claiming three wickets to extend his outstanding run in white-ball cricket.


This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Login