Four Punjabi Canadians elected in Alberta

According to official records, Calgary and Edmonton City in Alberta account for over a significant population of Sikhs in Canada

In the recently concluded provincial legislature elections of Alberta, Canada, four Punjabi Canadian politicians emerged victorious out of the total of 15 Punjabis in the fray.

Rajan Sawhney, Minister of Trade, Immigration and Multiculturism, from the United Conservative Party (UCP), sealed her victory in Calgary North West. Announcing the win on Twitter, she thanked her family, team, and the Canadian Board alongside the people who voted for her to be their representative in the Legislature. Sawnhney defeated Alberta New Democratic Party’s Michael Lisboa-Smith by 215 votes.

Sawhney is an activist and an engaged community volunteer and was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta first on April 16, 2019. She is passionate about community engagement initiatives and was recognized as a Community Builder by the YMCA for Canada 150.

Jasvir Deol from the New Democratic Party was re-elected from Edmonton-Meadows. He defeated his UCP rival Amritpal Singh Matharu by over 4,500 votes. He is the NDP critic for Multiculturism and holds a leadership position with the Edmonton Taxi Association.

Parmeet Singh Boparai received 7,786 votes from the people of Calgary-Falconridge, compared to UCP’s Devinder Toor who secured 5,468 votes. Boparai volunteers with non-profits that work toward addressing mental health, substance use, and anti-bullying.

Gurinder Brar won the polls from Calgary-North East with 11,111 votes, compared to UCP’s Inder Grewal who secured 9,078 votes. Brar supports access to strong public education and healthcare.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Login